Friday 09 February, 2018
STOKE are delighted to announce the signing of former British Under-19 Champion and ex National League Riders Champion Max Clegg as the club’s new number 1 for the 2018 season.

Potters promoter Dave Tattum could not hide his delight commenting “I’m absolutely thrilled to have Max join the club and really didn’t think we could attract someone of the calibre of him to Loomer Road. He is an out and out number 1 and has won numerous league titles with Dudley and Cradley in the National League and Edinburgh in the then Premier League and Wolverhampton in the Elite League as it was and he has also won the British U-19 title and National League Riders Championship also he is a real class act and has always been exceptional around Stoke when he’s ridden here against us and he will be a real asset to us and I’m delighted that Max has agreed to join us as it is a real boost for the club.”

Clegg who has numerous honours to his name has won the National League title previously with Dudley and Cradley and also won the Premier League and Elite League titles with Edinburgh and Wolverhampton respectively as well various cup victories and four team medals to his name and is still a youngster in the sport only being 20-years old and has proven to have a mature head on his shoulders with his other clubs.

The new Potters rider will also double-up with Rye House Rockets in the SGB Premiership.

Club promoter Tattum said “I know the supporters will be delighted with the signing of Max and will take him to their hearts as has happened at other clubs he has rode for in the past and none of us can wait to see him racing in a Stoke race jacket.”

DATE OF BIRTH: 11 April 1997, Brighouse, West Yorkshire.
BRITISH CAREER: (2012) Scunthorpe II; (2013) Dudley; (2014) Leicester, Cradley; (2015) Edinburgh, Cradley; (2016) Wolverhampton, Edinburgh, Cradley; (2017) Wolverhampton, Edinburgh, Buxton.
MAJOR HONOURS: British Under-19 Champion: 2016; National league Riders Champion: 2016.
CLUB HONOURS: League Championship winner: 2013 [Dudley], 2014 [Cradley], 2015 [Edinburgh], 2016 [Wolverhampton]; Knock-Out Cup winner: 2013 [Dudley], 2014 [Cradley]; Four-Team Championship winner: 2014 [Cradley]; National Shield winner: 2014 [Cradley]; League Cup winner: 2015 [Edinburgh].